Journ Student Jess

Student journalist looking for feedback on assignments and journalism in general

Venture Out! Exploring the Chippewa Nature Center During Spring Migration

leave a comment »

As part of my video project, I visited the Chippewa Nature Center in Midland to talk to a naturalist about how the spring migration has gone so far. It was an early morning in April when I arrived and the weather was not working with me; it was cloudy, cold and a bit dismal.
During my time at the Visitor Center, I spoke with Central Michigan University graduate, 34-year-old Jenn Kirts, about what species have been seen this year and how the weather has affected any of their behaviors.
I have visited the Chippewa Nature Center many times before and was familiar with many of the trails we discussed. Kirts was friendly and easy to interview; we ended up chatting at the end of a long room that looks out over the Chippewa and Pine rivers.
The hardest part of this project for me was editing. After some initial “save project” problems with iMovie, I switched to a different program I had a bit more familiarity with, Adobe Premier Pro. Although I had most of the initial cutting, editing and figured out my cutaways with an original project, I did not have enough time to include most of the second version. It was a challenge adding in consistent transitions and trying to keep track of the lengths to keep them uniform but Adobe worked better in that aspect. Overall, I had a good time working on this project and was satisfied with the final project.

Written by hayne2jr

April 5, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Leave a Reply

