Journ Student Jess

Student journalist looking for feedback on assignments and journalism in general

Back To The Office: Part Two

leave a comment »

Today marked the start of my summer internship with The Saginaw News-MLive and I cannot be happier to be back in the newsroom. I recently finished my first semester at Central Michigan University and am ready to get back on the scene after completing a fall editorial internship in 2012.

Midland Northeast Middle School Science Teacher Anthony Bauer monitors his eighth grade students tests as the students take the test using his Apple iPad. Since the release of the tablet device last April, Bauer has tried to push it to its limits in the classroom, using it to give presentations, organize student data, along with basic web functions such as e-mail and surfing the Internet.

Midland Northeast Middle School Science Teacher Anthony Bauer monitors his eighth grade students tests as the students take the test using his Apple iPad.

Although my first day was pretty much spent resetting my accounts and editing my MLive profile, which you can view here, I was able to schedule stories to focus on over the next week and some assignments. I am attending the Dow Chemical Annual Stockholder’s Meeting, or “the Meeting,” on Thursday with fellow reporter Justin Engel, from The Bay City Times and covering the Everyday Hero award banquet for the Saginaw County Community Mental Health Authority next week.

There was even enough time for a quick post. One of the things that drew me towards journalism when considering a career was the opportunity to learn and share that knowledge with others. I learned about a new technology initiative by Midland Public Schools is going before the voters, with the potential of putting an iPad in the hands of every student in the district and the cost of around $20.8 million. The full article is available here.

I am reporting on the results tomorrow and will have an update to share as soon as final tallies are completed. Class may be a memory soon but I am earning credits for this internship, hence the continuance of the JournStudent Jess blog. My hope is you will keep following and offer any feedback, advice or comments you might think of this summer. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

